Literary Translation

I translate contemporary fiction, non-fiction and poetry from German and Dutch into English. I’ve translated works by Rudolph Herzog, Hanna Bervoets, Nina Polak, Hilde Domin, Hans Lodeizen and others. My translations have been published by Melville House, Strangers Press, Levine Querido, Literary Hub and more, and have been read at the Crossing Border Festival and the Writers Unlimited Winternachten Festival in The Hague, the Berlin Poetry Festival and the International Book Festival in Budapest. I’m the recipient of the 2017 GINT Translation Prize.

In addition to book translations, I regularly translate samples and excerpts. I also write reader’s reports on works published in German and Dutch for English-language publishers, evaluating these titles for their suitability for translation and their viability for commercial publication. I have a special interest in essays and travel writing, poetry, LGBT voices and stories about migration, exile and displacement.

Books

We Had to Remove This Post

Hanna Bervoets

Mariner Books/Picador, 2022

“I sat down to read Hanna’s novel—brilliantly translated from the Dutch by Emma Rault—and was so gripped, I couldn’t put it down.” — Ansa Khan Khattak, commissioning editor at Picador UK

For readers of Leila Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma’s Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors—reviewers of violent or illegal videos for an unnamed megacorporation—who convince themselves they’re in control . . . until the violence strikes closer to home.

The Days of Bluegrass Love

Edward van de Vendel

Levine Querido, 2022

Tycho Zeling is drifting through his life. Everything in it—school, friends, girls, plans for the future—just kind of happens. Like a movie he presses play on, but doesn’t direct. So Tycho decides to break away from everything. He flies to America to spend his summer as a counselor at a summer camp, for international kids. It is there that Oliver walks in, another counselor, from Norway. And it is there that Tycho feels his life stop, and begin again, finally, as his.

The Days of Bluegrass Love was originally published in the Netherlands in 1999. It was a groundbreaking book and has since become a beloved classic throughout Europe, but has never been translated into English. Here, for the first time, it is masterfully presented to American readers—a tender, intense, unforgettable story of first love.

The Dandy

Nina Polak

Strangers Press, 2020
The Dandy is a collection of astute, wryly funny stories about modern relationships, queer love and non-monogamy. From ‘What Do You Want to Know?’, in which an older woman struggles with her grown daughter’s refusal to acknowledge her mother being in a lesbian relationship, to the title story, which chronicles the rise and fall of a fictional feminist literary magazine, these stories brilliantly explore sexual fluidity and unconventional ways of living and loving.
Ghosts of Berlin by Rudolph Herzog

Ghosts of Berlin

Rudolph Herzog

Melville House, 2019

★ Voted one of the best books of 2019 by Lit Hub

“A shrewd and provocative collection of fiction, Ghosts of Berlin is translated into English by the equally sharp Emma Rault.” — Shelf Awareness

“Celebrated filmmaker and author, Rudolph Herzog—yes, the son of Werner Herzog—has written a collection of ghost stories set in Berlin, as told by the Millennials who now live there. Linking all the stories is the globalized character of Berlin and the lingering effects of the war on both the city and its people (…) Herzog’s stories are utterly atmospheric, engrossing, refreshing, and devoid of pretense.” — Literary Hub

“Sharp satire, and a worthy addition to the growing canon of Berlin ghost-lit.” — Booklist

Short Prose

Staying Isolde

Nina Polak

Asymptote, October 2020

‘The lobster is the martyr of our ethical primitivism,’ he tells me as he carefully scrubs mushrooms for his famous Quiche Borraine, ‘both our inability to empathise with other life forms and our stubborn tendency towards infidelity.’ I’m not sure if he knows that he’s really talking about my stubborn tendency towards infidelity (which, technically speaking, isn’t infidelity: we have clear agreements on the subject).

No Petting

Nina Polak

Hinterland Magazine, 24 August 2020

‘Never fall in love with a taken man,’ that German teacher slurred into my ear at a school dance (her lips black from the red wine, her eyes tired). I took her inappropriate advice to heart: I fell in love with a taken woman. A tigress, who prides herself on the fact that she is both wild and chained. Insufferable. Irresistible. A force of nature.

Ball Lightning

Rudolph Herzog

Literary Hub, October 2019

“Why are you drinking so much?” the daughter wants to know.
“Because the ghosts are back.”
“There are no ghosts.”
“Then call it the past.”

Blog posts

from Simone Atangana Bekono’s residency at the Crossing Border Festival in The Hague

The Chronicles, October 2019

In the restaurant where we went on to have dinner, I counted the opportunities for escape: via the patio out back and then over the low wall, or I could excuse myself to go to the restroom and slip out through the entrance. Nothing gives you peace of mind like having an escape plan.

Apostle of Jack, Arthur, John and Paul

Auke Hulst

Asymptote, January 2018

Many people meditate to attain a certain contemplative, emotional, or even transcendental state, but I’m too restless for that. I can think more clearly (feel more clearly?) if I’m doing something. I think with my hands—writing—and I think with my legs: traveling.

Visiting the Snow Queen

Sophie Strohmeier

Queen Mob's Tea House (part of their Queer Translation feature), October 2016

The heavy conference table with the leather chairs, the desk with the curved claw feet, the green desk lamp, the curtain, the bronze sculpture of a dancing woman. All this was hers. Every day she looked at all of these things, even if only in passing; she touched them often. All these lifeless things spoke to her each day and were brought to life by her presence, and now they spoke to me of her.

Poetry

10 poems by Kurt De Boodt

Flanders Literature, October 2021

2 poems by Tom Van de Voorde

ANMLY, spring 2021

6 poems by Hilde Domin

no man's land, winter 2020

2 poems by Tom Van de Voorde

Verseville, December 2020

2 poems by Asha Karami

Versopolis, January 2020

‘The City Where I Was Born Is Vast’ and ‘Sprite Is Weak Coca Cola’

2 poems by Tom Van de Voorde

Action Books blog, May 2020

3 poems by Vicky Francken

Poetry International, May 2020

4 poems by Hilde Domin

New Books in German, April 2018

Samples

The Light Years

Jens Meijen

Bezige Bij, 2021

A Modern Desire

Hanna Bervoets

Uitgeverij Pluim, 2021

The Pear Song

Joost Oomen

Querido, 2021

I’m Going to Live

Lale Gül

Prometheus, 2021

The History of My Sexuality

Sofie Lakmaker

Das Mag, 2021

Around Four Weeks

Laura van der Haar

Podium, 2020

The Noble Autist

Romana Vrede

De Arbeiderspers, 2020

The Raccoon

Aleksandr Skorobogatov

De Geus, 2020

The Beast with the Strength of Ten Horses

Lida Dijkstra

Luitingh-Sijthoff, 2019

Flin, or the Lost Love of a Unicorn

Henry Lloyd

Querido, 2019

The Shape of Sound

Gregor Verwijmeren, Van Oorschot, 2019

Commissioned for the European First Novel Festival in Budapest, 23-26 April 2020

A Thousand Fathers

Nhung Dam, De Bezige Bij, 2017

Commissioned for the Deltaworkers residency in New Orleans, spring 2020

The Days of Bluegrass Love

Edward van de Vendel

Querido, 2015

Viktor

Judith Fanto

Ambo|Anthos, 2020

The Ting

Artur Dziuk

dtv, 2019

Salt

Marc Reugebrink

Querido, 2019

The Pineapple

Lex Boon

Meulenhoff, 2019

Being Inconspicuous

Dirk Brauns

Kiepenheuer & Witsch, 2019

Our Father

Angela Lehner

Hanser, 2019

The Confession

Marianne Philips

Cossee, 2019

The Fall

Matthias M.R. Declercq, Manteau

2017

Honors

Translator-in-Residence, 2019 Crossing Border Festival

In 2019 I was invited to take part in The Chronicles, the joint writer-translator residency program at the Crossing Border Festival in The Hague. I was paired with Dutch poet and author Simone Atangana Bekono. During each day of the festival she generated a new piece of writing which I had to translate that same afternoon. On the final evening of the festival, this culminated in a live event where we discussed our collaboration alongside the four other writer-translator pairs. The work Simone produced as part of the festival is archived here (in Dutch, and in my English translations).

Juror, GINT Translation Prize (2021, 2019, 2018)

Sponsored by the German Publishers and Booksellers Association and the Frankfurt Book Fair New York, the Geisteswissenschaften International Non-Fiction Translation Prize aims to draw the attention of publishers and English-language scholars to outstanding translation from German to English in the humanities.

Winner, 2017 GINT Translation Prize

‘In awarding the top honors to Emma Rault, the jurors found much to praise in her translation…[which] displayed an excellent understanding of the subject matter and command of the terminology in this area of scholarship, as well as a fine use of language that conveyed the text’s complexity in a reader-friendly style.’
– Jury’s Statement for the 2017 Geisteswissenschaften International Nonfiction Translators Prize

Workshops and Residencies

New Dutch Writing

Non-fiction translation workshop with Laura Vroomen and Anna Asbury

March 2021

New Dutch Writing

Poetry translation workshop led by David Colmer

July 2020

Translation Factory

Translation workshop at the Translators’ House Amsterdam with David Colmer and Laura Watkinson

November 2020

The Chronicles

Translation residency at the 2020 Crossing Border Festival in The Hague, the Netherlands

October 2019

Translate at City

Literary translation summer school for German–English translation with Shaun Whiteside

June 2017

Workshop for emerging Dutch–English translators

at the Translators’ House Amsterdam with David Colmer

March 2017

Literaire Vertaaldagen

Dutch–English literary translation workshop at the 2016 Literaire Vertaaldagen (“Literary Translation Days”) in Amsterdam, the Netherlands with Diane Webb

December 2016

Get in touch