The Light Years

A Modern Desire

The Pear Song

10 poems by Kurt De Boodt

I’m Going to Live

We Had to Remove This Post

“I sat down to read Hanna’s novel—brilliantly translated from the Dutch by Emma Rault—and was so gripped, I couldn’t put it down.” — Ansa Khan Khattak, commissioning editor at Picador UK

For readers of Leila Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma’s Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors—reviewers of violent or illegal videos for an unnamed megacorporation—who convince themselves they’re in control . . . until the violence strikes closer to home.

The Days of Bluegrass Love

Tycho Zeling is drifting through his life. Everything in it—school, friends, girls, plans for the future—just kind of happens. Like a movie he presses play on, but doesn’t direct. So Tycho decides to break away from everything. He flies to America to spend his summer as a counselor at a summer camp, for international kids. It is there that Oliver walks in, another counselor, from Norway. And it is there that Tycho feels his life stop, and begin again, finally, as his.

The Days of Bluegrass Love was originally published in the Netherlands in 1999. It was a groundbreaking book and has since become a beloved classic throughout Europe, but has never been translated into English. Here, for the first time, it is masterfully presented to American readers—a tender, intense, unforgettable story of first love.

New Dutch Writing

The History of My Sexuality

Translator-in-Residence, 2019 Crossing Border Festival

In 2019 I was invited to take part in The Chronicles, the joint writer-translator residency program at the Crossing Border Festival in The Hague. I was paired with Dutch poet and author Simone Atangana Bekono. During each day of the festival she generated a new piece of writing which I had to translate that same afternoon. On the final evening of the festival, this culminated in a live event where we discussed our collaboration alongside the four other writer-translator pairs. The work Simone produced as part of the festival is archived here (in Dutch, and in my English translations).

Get in touch